~ Staying motivated

kayne

So, you have started your new deck, the ultimate rendition of the perfect deck for you, now - what do you do to remain focussed and motivated to keep working on it and finish the whole thing? Do you get to a stage where your project, that at one point seemed like the most important thing ever, takes a backwards step? How is your tarot deck coming along?

Major Tom

It's funny but I know I will eventually finish my deck.

Slow periods? Well yes, I think it's inevitable to go through slow periods especially when you consider the enormity of the project. 78 original works of art required! I've been going through a slow period - no new cards for several months. I take comfort from the fact that Bea Nettles took 4 years to complete the Mountain Dream Tarot. I've been working on Major Tom's Tarot for just over 2 years and I'm just over half way through. :)

Motivation? Well my dear friend Kayne - I find your question answers itself - Major Tom's Tarot will be the "ultimate rendition of the perfect deck" for me. That by itself is enough to keep me going. The project occupies my thoughts and dreams. I often find myself looking at a scene or situation and thinking 'that's what I need for that card'. Of course - feedback from my friends helps too.

I've currently got the photos I need to produce 3 more cards. As I like to work in groups of 5 or more - I'm still in a photo gathering stage. I can feel some of those on their way to me as I write this - so it shouldn't be too much longer before I can show you some new cards. })

maiden

It helps me to read other's are going through this process.

I too am in the photo gathering phase. Which is looking for and cutting pictures out of the national geographic. I find that so relaxing and energizing at the same time.

Just being in the moment....

Then it just hits me what should go where for my meaning of the particular card or cards.