To Watermark or Not To Watermark?

Tomsde

I will be posting some new cards online to share with people in the near future. In the past I posted images in a lower than acceptable resolution for accurate printing. My question is, do you think it's enough to do that, or is watermarking a better deterent to piracy. I spend a lot of time on my artwork and don't want it stolen. What do you think? Should I also add a watermark to protect my intellectual property? I understand that some people on here have had problems with their artwork being stolen.

Alta

I think you should go with the watermark. Images on the internet seem to be regarded as free for the taking.

AJ

I'd watermark.

nikkipeachy

I've never created a deck, but I am a professional photographer and always watermark my images before putting them online. There are too many possibilities for them being stolen.

GryffinSong

Another ditto for watermarking. Or at the very least, a copyright notice somewhere that can't be easily cut off.

gregory

Another vote for watermarking. Remember Kat Black :(

Alta

Moderator note:

Some off topic and rather baffling posts have been removed.

Alta

Luna-Ocean

I will be posting some new cards online to share with people in the near future. In the past I posted images in a lower than acceptable resolution for accurate printing. My question is, do you think it's enough to do that, or is watermarking a better deterent to piracy. I spend a lot of time on my artwork and don't want it stolen. What do you think? Should I also add a watermark to protect my intellectual property? I understand that some people on here have had problems with their artwork being stolen.

Hello