Understanding Tarot

CALYN

I have been trying to learn Tarot for about three years now, and pick them up quite often and do a daily reading everyday, but I am still having trouble in deciphering the cards. I still have to refer to my books for meanings of cards. Can anyone recommend a technique which will help me grasp reading the cards or some handy hints. I truly want to be able to do this.

Pollux

What I do - I'm learning too, even though from less than three years :) - is a card a day. The journal, you know.
You pick one, look at it, think of it while in the bus or in the toilette (I'm joking, right? ;p )...
At home you write down things, what you feel, what events of the day may be related to the influence of the card and so on.
I'm not good at explaining, as I'm learning myself, and someone, the honest one, will tell you that Tarot Study takes whole lives! ;D
For more stuff on journals, look at www.learntarot.com, which is where I took the specifications from ;D .
Or look up in the other posts.

Greenman

my advice is... forget the tarot!
learn the symbols, the universal archetypes that make up the bulk of the symbolism in the good tarot decks. that way you'll be able to understand all the different decks, regardless of 'theme'.
and a good way to do this is to pour through the books that deal with symbolism.
one good one is J.E. Cirlot's 'A Dictionary of Symbols'. this is an excellent reference, but rather hard to find. another great book is J.C. Cooper's 'An Illustrated History of Traditional Symbols'. this one gives an interpretation of all kinds of symbols as seen through many different cultures.
Sallie Nichols 'Jung and Tarot' is very good too.

truthsayer

i think both pollux and greenman make excellent points. it really depends on what way you learn best and what fascinates you the most. pollux's way is that learning tarot thru self-exploration. greenman uses his love of symbolism and archetypes.