When do YOU look for Combinations???

Brock Johnson

I am a student of tarot like many of us and I like to think of myself as pretty skilled when it comes to reading them. My question however seemed to depress my pride when I asked myself, "When should I determine combinations?" I sat here confused wondering if I should just look for the relations between several cards if their positions in a spread were connected (i.e. "future feelings" and "future outcomes").

What do you do? Do you only look for the combinations between cards with similar positions in a spread like me? Or do you try and connect each card? Apart from a lot of the same number, suit, majors, people, and positions, how do you read the combinations or are these it?

I'm very curious because right now, combinations are working very well for me but I'm wondering if there is an alterior method which I should try.

Undoubtedly Curious,

Brock

Little Baron

Hi Brock

I think that there are always the obvious ones. If courts come up in a reading, they can be connected. And sometimes, I might see how they are connected by what stands inbetween them, literally. That something 'inbetween' might be stopping them from getting the best out of each other, or it might be a little bit of advice regarding keeping your distance.

In a spread like the Celtic Cross, I might see if there are any simularities. More than one five, for example. Which suits are present? How do they mix? What does the position say about their either working with or against each other?
There are positions such as 'conscious' and 'unconscious' which also have their own link, so I try and see what the two cards say to each other. Or at least, what the space in between them is saying.

I hope that makes sense and that I have made myself understandable. It is hard to explain, since I am no expert at this either. But I think it is a very interesting question that you have posted and I look forward to others take on this.

Best, LB

Brock Johnson