Where do i start!

JJP

Hi,

I'm a graphic designer who has been asked to design a set of Tarot cards (I am not allowed to publicly state the Theme just yet, copyright issues and what not, I would get fired!). As such I needed to research the logistics of it.

Books, websites, and the reading of many old threads in here later... Decision: its a HUGE task.

So, I thought I would see how the rest of you approached this. How long is generally spent creating a deck, and how do you start such a big project?

Also, I've looked through a lot of the threads about artwork and printing etc, produce artwork larger than size type of thing. But what finished size is the most common to work to?

I suspect I am going to be working on, and asking questions about this, for a LONG time...!

Page

Hi and Welcome,

Having worked as a Graphic designer some time in London some time ago I could help from that point of view.

1. How long have you got?
2. Is it a joint project with other Designers
3. Is it for a client (The reason why I ask this is because clients have their own ideas, which may not work design/wise + I know how that whey would want things done from yesterday)
4. If your in London best of luck, as I know what Design companies are like.
5. Will you have others giving “their” own personal opinion, it might be helpful or it could put you right of track. Some Graphic designers have a huge ego, and can be such meat heads.

All the better if you’re a Freelancer because it’s a very long project………...You might as well subscribe and have a chat.
Oops sorry I did work in sales too :D

The main thing is that your in the right place for sure!
Your doing the right thing by reading old threads, keep brainstorming etc. But there is no magic trick to start.
It’s the same as anything you design/create. Even if you know nothing about tarot you can make your own deck.

What’s your best deck?

Feel free to e-mail me.
All the best

Maud

kayne

Wow - what a cool brief - create a tarot deck. :D