Your first spread

bigbee123

hello,
I am new to tarot and new to this forum. Was just wondering which spread do u i begin with to start practising? Could u suggest which is the easiet one and simple to start with? what were the first spread u used?

anonymous_artist

I started with a 3 card spread. Past Present Future type of thing and the celtic cross as most people and books suggest.

ravenari

I too used the three card spreads (Past Present Future), and then would use qualifying cards for specific questions.

Apollonia

I did a daily 3-card spread each morning (or the night before asking about the next day) with positions Morning-Afternoon-Evening. Then I would compare the cards to what my day had actually been like, to get an idea of what each card meant for me personally.

SaMoon912

I agree, I tried a celtic cross spread first though and not a 3 card spread. It helps too if your cards come with a book of spreads since my first deck came with a book of spreads and meanings of the cards. I used all the spreads and some I still use to this day even though I use a completely different deck now.

coeur

My first spread was the celtic cross. Three card spreads are good, but they can sometimes be vague since you can't say: this is the card for such and such...

The celtic spread works well with book definitions as well since each card is already assigned a specific question and the card can then give a specific answer. Thus, less interpretation is needed. Of course, as you progress, you will able to give more details because you are able to interpret more. However, the celtic cross can still provide quite a an indepth reading even if you're just beginning.

Bohaz

My first (and only) spread was 2 days ago.