Tarot Deck Boxes

Rob

I'm new to tarot collecting, and I have a major gripe with publishers of decks. Since this isn't about a particular deck or the qualities there of, I posted here instead of the deck forum.

Does anyone else think the boxes that most decks come in are entirely too easily damaged and almost impossible to get open without creasing them? Those little notches on the top cover that hold the flap down make it so hard to open them without creasing the flap...not to mention the flap creases so easily, and the corners wear to tatters like nothing! AND, the most heinous thing of all...the boxes have flaps on both ends and are only the exact size of the deck+LWB, so it's almost impossible to get the deck entirely back into the box safely without bending/creasing the LWB or spending 10 minutes jiggling.

Dal Negro is the only company that seems to have the right idea with this - their boxes don't have notches on the top flap, open easily, and are plenty big enough for the decks so that you don't have to worry about the bottom flap. The Robin Wood box design is even better, opening sideways so that none of the flap issues exist.

The bigger boxes, like those of the various box sets, aren't too bad...aside from being huge and taking up a lot of room. I'm mainly angry about the regular deck boxes. Anyone else feel the same way? I suspect not many...I'm just very particular about keeping things nice and in good condition, and these boxes make it so hard!

Bridget

For years I kept my only deck (the RWS) in its original box, so I know what you're talking about. The box is fine as sales packaging, but flimsy for storage - eventually I had to use tape to keep it from falling apart. When I finally got a bag for the cards, I tossed the box with relief.

My question to you is, why keep the box at all? Why not get a bag or a small wooden box for your deck? Either will last a lot longer than the manufacturer's box, and your choice will be more personal and attractive.