Disclaimers and Looking to the Future

3crows

Hi Everyone, I'm new to the Professional Tarot forum, and really love reading everybody's wisdom and advice. I have a 3-part question. It's my very first fair, and I'm reading from 9-3. I'm nervous as hell- so....

1. Is it okay to put out a disclaimer (in a friendly way) that explains that my reading is not a psychic reading, but a card reading? I'm nervous about the idea of people sitting down to play "stump the psychic" when I'm not even a psychic. I do use my intuition blended with tradition, and I'm clairvoyant and can often see auras which might add to the reading. But I am not psychic.

2. This leads to another idea- I feel most comfortable creating spreads that look to the future...for obvious readings. Its more about how to move on, and not so much about whether or not I "got it right" by telling them what just happened in their past, what they are doing now, etc. I hate trying to tell people what they already know- ie. "so- its says here that you have a dog named fluffy, and you are in school now." Yes. "and your husband just got a promotion." yes. well, great, but they already know that.

So... my favorite spread (and tell me if this is appropriate for a 10 minute reading) is an elemental spread- which suggests what to look for in different areas of their lives. The card in the north is about health/money. The card in the east is about communication and information/mental energy. The card in the south is about the Will and creativity. The card in the west is about relationships. Then one in the middle for spirit.

So I would be saying something like..."this card is the 10 of wands. It suggests that you take care not to pile too many things on your plate, There might be a tendency to get burned out- etc. etc." so its more about what to look for, what needs attention right now.

any thoughts or suggestions?
Thanks!

214red

3crows said: