Can you give a reading for someone who doesn't know you are reading for them?

Melisandre

I don't know if this is the right place for this thread, but I'm very new to this and wanting to practice readings. I can't keep reading for myself, and I've already read my roommate and a few other people I have close at hand.

My question is whether it is okay to do a reading for a friend/family member/etc. who did not specifically ask for a reading and who doesn't know I'm doing it? I feel like I could do career and/or relationship spreads for quite a few people in my life just to get the hang of things but I don't know if that's advisable. Is this a morally gray area, or would it yield inaccurate results?

Thanks!

gregory

It's more morally debatable than grey ! You will find members here who say go ahead, some who say well, um, maybe if... and ones who say no way.

Why not practice on story book characters and characters on TV shows with a storyline coming up ? Doing it just for practice is something I wouldn't think OK (even if I weren't one of the don't group here anyway !) - as it isn't in any way for their benefit, only for yours, if you see what I mean.

Or just join in some of the circles here or post in Reading Exchange ?

shadowdancer

HI there and welcome to AT :)

So, lets see if we can help on this. It is always a personal choice as to what you have as your personal ethics. I tend to not do readings for anyone who hasn't asked. Bit like reading their emails or diary and I would feel very uncomfortable, particularly if reading on a relationship and something 'iffy' comes up. That could put you in a difficult situation as to what you do with the info.