New student - which deck should I start with?

buddhagoddess

I am a new student of tarot and I went a little ape and bought several decks. I am trying to decide which deck I should initially learn the basic meanings with. I have the Sacred Circle which I have used a little bit, but the artwork does deviate quite a bit sometimes from the "standard" rider-waite symbolism. I do have the book that goes along with it so that does help. I also have the Revelations, cat people, Marseilles, and Haindl decks. I am leaving the last 3 for when I feel comfortable with the basics. Would the Revelations tarot be a better starter deck for me than Sacred Circle? Any advice would be great. Thanks.

jmd

For the basics, I would stick with the Marseille.

prudence

I wish I had started off with a Marseilles when I first began reading.

Everything else just seemed to slow down my progress.

Now it's the only style of decks I use.

Good luck with whatever you choose. :)

connegrl

Out of the decks you own, I'd pick the TdM. Use AT as your 'book' and keep a journal. If I was to recommend a deck to a beginner, I'd recommend the Iternational Icon Tarot. If you use either the TdM or the IIT, do it for 6 mos before jumping to something else.

Jen

Jewel

Out of the decks you own most definetly the TdM. If you are wanting to start with RWS type deck, then I would recommend the Gilded. But I honestly think you should stick to the decks you own and start with the TdM.

bleuivy

connegrl said:
Out of the decks you own, I'd pick the TdM. Use AT as your 'book' and keep a journal. If I was to recommend a deck to a beginner, I'd recommend the Iternational Icon Tarot. If you use either the TdM or the IIT, do it for 6 mos before jumping to something else.

This is the best advice I could give as well. I often wish I had started with the Marseilles, or at least another deck with nonillustrated minors.