Questions to Draw Out The Querent

missy

What do people think are the best questions to draw out the querent, in in-person (or phone) readings? Or things to watch for in the querent's demeanor; said or unsaid. I am a beginner and am interested in how to engage querents in conversations about cards, get them to tell me what they think of a card, get info to use for follow-up questions, etc., especially "quiet" querents.

The more info from the querent, the better the reading.

Thanks, everyone!

Apollonia

Hi, Missy!

I think I'm having trouble answering your question because for me engaging the querent in the reading happens automatically as soon as they see that what I am saying resonates for them. I don't think we really need to work on engaging them--if the reading is good it stands on its own merits, and they will be talkative or quiet according to their own personality type. Some people do not like to say much because they feel that they may influence what I'm saying. Others like to be interactive, because they feel they get a more meaningful reading if they let me know what's up with them. If you let each person do what s/he is most comfortable with, you will probably become more comfortable with the silent ones.

I do feel the quiet ones might not be return clients if they feel they have been prompted and pushed to talk more than they would like. I will ask simple questions such as, "Are you currently employed?" or "Are you in a relationship now?" but that is because these are paid readings, and it just takes too long to give them a lot of information that they already know. But I do tell them ahead of time that I might at some point ask a couple of these types of factual questions, so they are not alarmed by me suddenly seemingly trying to get information out of them.