herbs for a persistant COUGH!

cheekyminx

Has anyone else had it? Or have it? Cough, cough all day & night :(

Whats good for a dry cough thats persistant & won't go away?? I don't want to take any drugs, I'd rather natural products :D

Thank you

geministar

It depends what kind of cough it is. Is it a chesty cough, a dry cough? Maybe something for your immune system will help it but I reckon you should go into a health food shop and ask in there. If you have a naturopath give him/her a call and they can either recommend something or make you up a nice herbal mixture...YUM! (not).

PixieLi

I'm no herb expert but I would suggest Vitamin C and Zinc as well as Echinacea.

taken from wikipedea ~ Echinacea has been attributed with the ability to boost the body's immune system and ward off infections, particularly the common cold.

Get well soon
B*B
Pix

chrisam-crystals

sage tea is fannytastic for coughs, and if you add some honey then it will soothe your throat from any soreness caused by the coughing.

about half teaspoon of dried sage or 5 or 6 fresh leaves per cup, steep for 3-7 minutes depending on the strength you can handle and then sip a cup full 3-4 times a day.

also try sipping wine vinegar mixed into some water to take the tickle from your throat when a cough is starting up, but sip it don't gulp it down! lol

jue xx

Rainbow Aurora

Hello cheekyminx
You could try using Liquorice root fresh
or dried and put it in a pan, cover with
water and simmer for ages, three hours even.

Strain and bottle the syrup, you can add
a couple of tea spoons of Honey for each
cup of syrup this adds to the existing qualities
of the Liquorice and acts as a preservative.
Take one or two tea spoons every few hours.
taken from Growing and Using The Healing Herbs
by Gaea and Shandor Weiss

I have tried this and it worked. Although
chrisam-crystals sage tea sounds good and
a lot quicker to do!! I think I will try that
next time, many thanks chrisam-crystals.

:love:
Rainbow