4 of Cups as a good thing?

Cielamara

I was recently doing some soul-searching about my job (I'm a teacher) and drew some cards that have eluded translation and understanding for me. The first card I pulled was for "what are my strengths as a teacher?". For this, I got the 4 of Cups. The next card I pulled was "what can I build on within my strength?". For this, I got the 6 of Cups, which...feels right? I think of this as a card of childhood, lots of soft sunlight and feel-good moments, gentle nurturing, always having a nostalgic eye on the past and a deep awareness of innocence and sweetness, which...is appropriate, given my line of work. I'm very much in touch with my inner child in what I do.

Getting multiple Cups cards doesn't really surprise me--I'm a very water-oriented person, I'm a very sensitive, tenderhearted sort. But in reading my notes, in reading all my books, websites, etc, everyone seems to think of the 4 of Cups in a really negative light--self-absorption, detachment, disappointment, turning one's back on things. None of those things really seem like a strength, and they certainly don't seem to fit here--I put my heart and soul into the work I do. I'm having a hard time finding alternative interpretations of this card. Any thoughts?

Edited to add: the only thing I can think of that would kiiiiiinda make sense for the 4 of Cups being a strength is the idea of interpreting it as being a card of reflection. So maybe it's saying that my tendency to be very introspective and analytical is my greatest strength? That my self-awareness and effort to keep my frustration/anger/etc in check when my students are pushing my buttons are more powerful than I think?

rwcarter

Moderator Note

Welcome to Aeclectic, Cielamara!

Per the UTC Posting Rules, whenever asking for help with card interpretations, you are required to provide your own interpretations first before anyone else may chime in to help you. You haven't provided an interpretation for the 4C.