A question for coffee house readers

minotaur

I have a question for those of you who do/have done readings in coffee houses.

I will be approaching some locally to do readings for donations. My question has to do with what deck to use.

I have a Universal Waite but would like to use the Baroque Bohemian Cat Tarot. My concern is people in a coffee house might not take the reading as seriously as if it came from a Rider-Waite or Marseilles tarot.

One very successful local psychic insists it is Rider-Waite in the real world...that's what people want.

I want to use the Kitty deck because I think that people will feel better after a reading just from the images...but will they take me seriously?

So coffee shop readers...what have been your experiences?

Onyx

I have no experience but I wanted to say that this is a very interesting question and one I wonder about everytime I plan to do a face to face reading. I can really work myself up into a frenzy over the issue. I work personally with many decks that I don't think are necessarily right for public readings.

Likewise, I had heard that it is pretty much Rider-Waite-Smith or bust for the public. Very interested to see what insight others will provide.

Onyx.

Siri

Read with whatever you feel most comfortable with. The more comfortable and confident you are, the better people will be able to connect with you and the cards.

That said, I wouldn't use a really obscure deck. That could be a little off-putting. But as long as something is a fairly clear deck, I don't think the style matters all that much. As long as YOU are comfortable with it.

My two cents worth ^_^

~Siri, who has done a few coffee house readings with her Universal Fantasy deck

Debra

I tried the Gummi Bears tarot at a charity function and it was a bust--even though they weren't paying, they wanted a "real" deck. I switched to another deck pronto.

Dragon Rider

From my own experience reading semi-pro in public settings...