Absolute Newby

Mike

Hi,
I just bought a set today, The Sacred Circle Tarot, it has a book and the deck. I am an absolute newcomer. I have been interested and just today my grandma got me the set (she got a different one a few days ago). I am 15 years old and have no experience whatsoever in Tarot or anything like it. But I would like to learn and if you have any advice or anything like that I woud greatly appreciate it because other than what the book says and what I've read so far I know VERY little. One question I have right now is before you do a spread, the book starts talking about putting the first card down. But do you shuffle or do you just randomly get one or what? Another thing, could somebody explain the upside down card thing? (completely lost there!). Like I said, I am probably a lot younger than most people who start with Tarot but I am very open minded and am very willing to learn. Thanks,

Michael

Mike

Oh, yea. I was looking around this forum and I found a lot of stuff about Tarot and then Reiki. I know Reiki and can do it because my grandma let me go to a class on it once. I have a certificate and stuff. I can't remember what though, ummm. Need to go look. But my grandma has been to a whole bunch of those Reiki things. Just though I'd let you know.

Thanks,
Michael

Thirteen

Not to hype my own section too much--but that's the purpose of it after all.

Check Tarot Basics.

Go back 180 days, and a few pages to the beginning. There are lessons and discussion there for the beginner. Just follow the numbers. Hope it helps.

Thirteen

Oh, and you want to start with "The Fool"--which has no number--then go on to #1, The Magician, etc.

fairyhedgehog

Hi Mike, Good to see you in here :)

Thirteen's suggestion is good - that whole section on Basic Tarot is really useful.