Ack! Help! Reading on the spot!

sleepingcat

So, it seems I get to read for my office at the weekly meeting next friday....

But I'm not very good at reading at parties or for people on-site because I'm so slow.

What can I do now I'm in a situation were I should read on the spot so quickly? I have a little over half of my deck's book-meanings memorised, but I prefer to touch the LWB as little as I can.

Should I just jump with first instinct and punge in? Or should I nudge the readings to make sure there's a work-appropriate filter in place? I'm leaning towards the latter just to play it safe.

How do tarot ethics work in these situations?

Staramber

If other people are going to be watching you read (apart form the sitter) then I think you do need to do a bit of filtering if something very sensitive turns up. If you wouldn't say it in a public conversation I don't think it's right for a public tarot reading. Perhaps mention it later in privet?

As for keeping it short the only thing I can think of doing is keeping an eye on the clock, stick to a three card spread and don't get distracted by follow up questions.

Grizabella

Don't over-think your readings. First impressions are important because they're usually right on.

As Staramber says, be discreet if others are watching and listening to the readings and you see something come out that shouldn't be said in front of a crowd.

If this is going to be a "oh let's all get readings, it will be a hoot" kind of thing, then I'd keep it light and just do a quick once-over kind of reading for each person.

As for being new and having memorized all the meanings, my advice is to just try not to freeze up with stage fright if you can't remember some of what you've memorized. Relax and let the pictures speak to you because they won't lie to you. :)

Thirteen

Keyword

sleepingcat said:
Should I just jump with first instinct and punge in? Or should I nudge the readings to make sure there's a work-appropriate filter in place?