Are court cards the only cards that can represent people?

Queen313

I've been lookign at a lot of different spreads and sometimes there is a card that is supposed to represent the "who" in a situation. Sometimes these spreads say to divide your deck into court cards, minors, and majors, but other times they don't. So I was wondering what everyone's thoughts were on this. And if other cards can represent people, how would a card like the tower, temperance, or the 2 of swords be interpreted as a person?

Thanks! I'm still learning, so sorry if this is a really "easy" question.

ana luisa

That ´s not an easy question nor should you feel ashamed to ask. To me, it really depends on the reading. Each reading has an energy, an aura to it. Because I read cards inuitively, I sometimes see the "who", as you name it, as one character in a card. For example, I may see the person as one of the boys fighting in the 5 of wands; I may also see the person as the bird on the lady´s arm in the 9 or pentacles. I may feel that the person is the tower itself, crcking in two or burning. It really depends on what you feel the moment you start reading. So, yes, any card can be a person. But here are no easy recipes for what could mean what...

balenciaga

People

Some people, sometimes, read the Hierophant, the magician, the HP, the Emperor, the Empress, the 9 of Pents, as people along with the courts. I hardly ever read pages as children, as some people do; I read them as messages, though the page of pentacles I read as a student.
Hope this does not confuse you. All depends on context and placement - type of reading.

Sophie

All of the cards can represent people, sometimes.

All of the cards (including the courts) can represent events, actions or general energies, sometimes.

And all of them, if you study, have a placement on the tree of life, an attribution and a lot of correspondences, which will help with interpretation.