Blank Cards

M.J

Is it common for decks to have blank cards in them??

I have only one tarot deck at the moment (well two, but one I haven't received yet) and that is the Animal Wise deck by Ted Andrews. I got this because I have never used tarot before and I have a strong tie with animals and totem medicine. I thought that I'd feel more comfortable with this deck and could then move on to a more traditional type (which has been true).

In this deck there is a blank card. When I was shuffling the cards and getting used to them - I drew this blank card all the time. I was sitting by a river with my husband one day, trying to put my energy into them and kept drawing this blank. My husband suggested that it was because I wasn't using them - they didn't hold my energy yet.

So I bit the bullet and started doing readings with them instead of just preparing them. I haven't seen the blank card since, but I know it's still in there somewhere!!!

Do all decks have blank cards? Is there an alternate meaning to this or do you think my husband was right? (seemed so!)

Knightward

I am not fimilar with the deck, so I may not have the best answer.

Which card is "missing" If you have 78 cards, but one is blank, it would stand to reason the Blank card should be whichever card is not present within the rest of the deck.

-Fenier

Lady Orchard

I've not heard of decks having blank cards. Like knightward says I would check whether this is a 79th "mistake" or whether it replaces a missing card.

If it is an extra card, I think I would be inclined to read with it. It's bound to come up sooner or later - in which case maybe you could treat it like a blank scrabble tile, and give it whatever meaning you intuitively feel for that position?

Knightward

That could work, But I am wondering if its a Blank 78th or an extra 79th Card. You would have to count the deck to make sure.

-Fenier

Alta