Can negative readings taint a deck?

Lovingmom

Hello All,
I am new to tarot and to forums, so please forgive any mistakes or silly questions.

I originally posted several questions in one post that I should have asked across different forums. I am trying to rectify my error by asking in the correct places now. I included a link below to the original post if you want info on the specific situation.

My question for the forum is this: So far, I have only done a few readings with my deck and have only used it for learning about my personal growth. I have been so impressed and amazed with the results that I would now like to do a reading to seek advice on how to handle a very difficult situation that I am dealing with. This involves family, work, and dishonesty. Will doing a reading like this bring negativity to my deck? I am using a beginners deck called the Art of Tarot and the pictures are, to me, very pure and clean. I have only used it after meditating and getting into a very open, honest head-space. I am concerned that if I start using it to read external events, that the deck will absorb some of that negativity.

My "gut" is telling me to keep this deck as my "inner self" deck and to get another for reading external events. Is that ridiculous?

The link to my original post is: http://www.tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=246004

Thank you so much.

Alta

Well, thinking something is enough to taint the deck for you. Literally taint the deck? No. But in your mind, very likely. Go ahead and get a second deck, you'll feel better about the whole thing.

Barleywine

Nothing that makes you feel more confident and comfortable with reading is ridiculous. You will hear differing opinions about decks absorbing negative energy. Personally, I don't get mystical about them and just think they're a tool. But you can always cleanse your deck between readings if you like. Look up previous threads on the many ways to do this.

rwcarter