Cards picking up my energy?

Eibhlin

I've been trying to read for myself, maybe a little unsuccessfully :( I've been through a hugely emotional time lately and everytime I approach the cards it's all negative, negative, negative. Either I'm in for a hell of a time or somehow my own nervious ball of energy (which I can feel in the pit of my stomach) is affecting my readings? I'm not sure, I'm a complete novice, as may be obvious!

Scorpion

Hi Eibhlin!

Sorry to hear you're going through a rough patch. I firmly believe that the cards pick up energy. I recently read for a husband and wife (separately) who have started a new business venture and something which is totally different from anything they had done before. While the wife's layout reflected all sorts of doubts (which she subsequently confessed she hadn't told her husband) concerning feeding and clothing their two young children, paying the mortgage etc, if the business did not succeed, her husband's spread did not include one negative card. I subsequently discovered that the whole thing was his "baby" and he desperately needed to do it - it was extremely important for him to work for himself - and that his wife had just gone along with it.

So I don't think you need to worry that you're in for a very bad time. After all, all cards can be seen as having a positive and negative aspect - can you try to find the positive in what you're coming up with? Alternatively, why not post your reading here and get someone else to put a different slant on it for you?

MeeWah

Definitely, cards pick up on energy patterns as they mirror or reflect one's consciousness(es). In this way, they tend to echo the prevailing state of being.
The emotional state can & often does influence how one reads or views the cards. It is not always a good idea to read for the self when under duress but there are no fixed rules as to the approach. As with much of anything else regarding the practice of readings, it depends upon the reader.