Creating Your Own Spreads?

ChrisTheObscure

Hello again,

Was wondering what any of you thought of creating your own spreads? The person that introduced me to tarot was all for it, but I've since encountered a couple of readers that are dead set against it - that only traditional spreads should be used (ie, 3 card, celtic cross, etc). If that's the case, who determines what's traditional and what's not? The nay-sayers didn't have a clear answer on that one.

Again, I'm just very new to all of this and want to make the most of my cards. Thanks.

wavebreaker

I don't see anything wrong with creating your own spreads, as long as you clearly determine before using it what each card position in the spread stands for.
Some people prefer "traditional" spreads, others prefer their own spreads. Whatever works for you! (And this is an answer you'll get a lot on this forum! ;-) )

And yes: who determines what spread is traditional or not? The Celtic Cross may be considered a traditional one, because a lot of people use it, but there are a lot of different versions of it, with different meanings for the card positions. So, what then is the traditional Celtic Cross? I'd say: just choose the version that works best for you, or create your own version.

Sometimes I don't even use a spread, I just ask a question and draw a card, and if that's not clear enough, I ask a second question for clarification and draw a second card, making the "spread" up as I go along.

Strega

IMO: There's nothing wrong with designing your own spreads nor with using the classic ones as long as they suit your needs. :)

Rhiannon

I create my own spreads all the time. In fact, there have been several threads about this... can't remember all of them, but I'm sure you'll find them if you try a search. Some people here have some really amazing spreads they've come up with!

R :) Oh, and welcome!

Jenny-Li