Dark of the Moon spread - anyone want to help me out?

Elektra

(I'm using the Gilded Tarot deck, which has essentially RWS-like imagery/meanings.)

I'm pretty new at this, so I'm having some trouble with a few of the cards (and my interpretations are no doubt laughably simplistic!). I would welcome any insight :).

1-------4
--2-7-5--
3-------6

1: Releasing. Things you should be letting go of in your life:
The Sun

2: Retaining. Things you should be holding close to you:
Seven of Pentacles

3: Receiving. Things that are coming into your life:
The Emperor

4: Surroundings. How the world around you is affecting you:
The Lovers

5: Giving. What you should be giving to others:
The Moon

6: Beginning. Something new that will begin soon:
Six of Cups

7: Your lesson. What you should be learning at this point:
Seven of Cups

It seems to me that the two Sevens (in the "what should I be holding onto" and "what should I be learning" slots) are a significant pairing, and they indicate that I need to learn to take control of my mind (Seven of Cups - I have obsessive tendencies) while retaining control in more practical aspects of my life (I'm reading this as school - I put a tremendous amount of work into my classes last semester, am just now receiving my grades - assessing the investment - and need to continue or reevaluate my study/work strategies as needed). The Emperor also indicates control and stability - given that it's in the "coming into my life" slot, perhaps that means that I'll succeed in acheiving this control.

I guess The Emperor could also be read literally as a strong man coming into my life.

I'm having trouble with the rest of the cards, though.

The Sun and The Moon seem like a significant pairing (what I should give up and what I should give to others, respectively), but I don't know what they mean in this context.