Do cards have fixed meanings?

fishbrain

I understand (1) cards have an assortment of traditional meanings: some quite varied, others quite similar; and (2) as you become more comfortable and experienced with tarot you trust your own judgment and intuition...

just curious...
is there anyone here who literally ignores (or is ignorant of) the traditional meanings of cards, and goes purely on their own instinct?

a lot of beginners basically want to memorize the meanings. is this a good starting point? or is this a hinderance in some respects?

(note: i figure i would class myself as "intermediate" - i'm not a novice, neither am i an expert) ie, i am not asking specifically from a personal point of view for help, just asking as a general question.

for me...
i like to study the cards, both meanings, and images. I've begun collecting more packs. i find it very stimulating and educational to study/meditate upon different styles/decks of cards. the juxtaposition of (sometimes rather wildly different) images and symbolism seems to help "unlock" the core meaning or principles of the card.

of course (like many, i imagine) my grounding is in learning and familiarising myself with a fairly standard deck, Rider-Waite. Which also means I tend to see other decks "in terms of" the Rider-Waite.

fishbrain

It does... thanks :)

Eddie

As a beginner, I reveled in learning the meanings of the cards.
As I did so, I very soon noticed that I was getting too caught up and even confused by concentrating so much with the book meanings.
I had lost any instinctual feelings I'd had.
So i started to let the pictures speak first and then allow the book meanings to have their say.
I now realize that letting the pictures speak is a very usefully way of reading and it is a good exercise to do from time to time, this really exercises your instinct.