Do you think Tarot only reflects only your own thoughts?

pdmishh

Hi there. I'm new to tarot so I'm learning a lot here :). But I keep wondering if Tarot only "reads" my mind or only reflects my own thoughts, rather than the situation at large or all energies involved. So to those who are more experienced in reading than me, I'm wondering your thoughts about this? Especially in regards to self readings. Thanks!

RiverRunsDeep

Hi, pdmishh, and welcome to the forum!:) I usually only read for myself. In most instances, I find that the cards accurately reflect the current situation. If the cards seem to be reflecting my own thoughts and feelings, it is usually because I am upset or emotionally invested in the question I asked. In those cases, I give the cards a rest until I feel more settled, or I ask someone else to do a reading for me.

emilygrace

I agree with you, OP. I never read for myself for this exact reason. The cards only ever seem to reflect my fears and inner emotions and are virtually never accurate about the situation, unless someone else is reading for me. Also, oftentimes when I've read on a predictive question for myself, it'll just tell me what I'm feeling in the here and now- not helpful.

pdmishh

Hi, pdmishh, and welcome to the forum!:) I usually only read for myself. In most instances, I find that the cards accurately reflect the current situation. If the cards seem to be reflecting my own thoughts and feelings, it is usually because I am upset or emotionally invested in the question I asked. In those cases, I give the cards a rest until I feel more settled, or I ask someone else to do a reading for me.

Thanks for the reply! That's interesting because I definitely notice a difference in the clarity of the reading after I've given the cards a "break". And I can relate; sometimes if I'm doing a self reading, the more emotionally involved I am, the harder it is to get a clear/direct read.

Nemia