Does this happen to anyone else?

Zazi

I am a newbie to actually reading the cards and I have only tried to read for myself. Occasionally I just flip through the cards to see if anything comes to mind. I haven't really memorized any 'official' meanings. And so far I only use one deck, the International Icon Tarot.

I usually either get no connection at all, or something snide or silly (almost like the titles to the Fractured Fairytales on the old Bullwinkle cartoons). For instance 5 of cups: No Use Crying Over Spilled Milk; or Oops! Did I Do That?

Or 9 of swords: Please, don't fall on me. Please don't fall on me. Please don't fall on me...
followed by

10 of swords: Can't Be Any Deader Than That; or Oops! You Fell on Me.

The Empress was ready to hit me with her scepter.

The Page of Swords says, "Wow, I have a Sword! Now what do I do with it?"

Other cards I get nothing at all except that I like the art on this deck and I enjoy looking at the pictures.

ana luisa

You know what? You´re absolutely on the right path. It does happen to me and I believe to many readers. The funny comments are not to be dismissed though. They´re great advice from your intuitive self and will help you get even a better connection with the cards. As far as not "getting' anything, yes, it´s Tarot´s block. Don´t feel as if you or the cards have to be infallible. If nothing comes to you, give it time. Shuffle. Relax. Do it later. Since, to me at least, tarot reading is a bit like having a conversation with the cards, sometimes, they don´t really feel like talking LOL

Papageno

I agree with ana luisa, you're off to a great start.

your Mythic Tarot should be able to give you a lot of guidance.
it's basis in Greek Mythology will serve you will.......that deck could be your Rosetta Stone.

Zazi

Thanks! I feel better now. I was beginning to wonder if I was just abnormal :)

Moonchild1721