Emperor vs. Hierophant

Trogon

Okay ... this isn't actually a WWE cage match-up (though, that might be quite an interesting match :D). But rather, something I just read in Rachel Pollack's "Seventy Eight Degrees of Wisdom" prompted me to post. I am studying the Hierophant ... in her section The Hierophant Ms. Pollack says;
"The Emperor symbolized the rules themselves and their official enforcers; The Hierophant indicates our own inner sense of obedience."
However, as I was writing out my thoughts on The Hierophant, it occurred to me that, in the extreme, this card represents religious zealotry and as such, the enforcers of some of the extreme elements/sects of a given religion. An example which came to mind were the "Danites" of the old Mormon groups. These were, supposedly, their warriors and, in some cases, enforcers of their doctrines.

But, when I think of the Emperor, I think more strictly of secular society. The laws that govern us regardless of our spiritual/religious following, and the enforcers of those laws (the police, FBI, CIA, etc.). Granted, in some societies or cultures, there may be little difference between their government and their religion. And sometimes those can become very extremist cultures who's enforcers are just as extreme.

I guess my question is this; would the "enforcers" of a religious group fall under The Hierophant, or would they fall under The Emperor?

I don't suppose that Rachel Pollack actually hangs around in these forums? ;)

[edited to fix typo. :|]

Stormdancer

I guess my question is this; would the "enforcers" of a religious group fall under The Hierophant, or would they fall under The Emperor?

Thanks for a fascinating question! I think the "enforcers" you mention fall into the Emperor from my point of view. The Hierophant is more THE spiritual teacher...probably not concerned with "the Enforcers". The Hierophant....is able to translate the spiritual realms for the masses....

Oh, I don't like how that sounds.