Fantastic Menagerie Tarot: The World

Mi-Shell

This month I am studying the Fantastic Menagerie Tarot; picking a card a day, reading and musing about it.
Today it is The World.
The book discribes this card as depicting the dance of life and our dance througt life. I much like all about that and also the artwork on the card, apparently showing Sophie, the ballet dancing Dragonfly performing in front of a Bee hive.
The book subsequently features a story about the life and times of Sophie the Dragonfly, a very gifted dancer of her time...
But I am utterly perplexed by the fact, that I do see - recognize - the dancer in the artwork not as a Dragonfly but a Grasshopper!!??
Grashoppers have loooooong antenaes, Dragonflies do not... and the head!!??
( Do not get fooled by the arms and leggs... Most critters in this deck have human-like arms, legs, hands and feet...)
Am I buzzzing wrong in my head???
Help!!!!
Here a few pics:

Attachments

• Grashopper.jpg
    Grashopper.jpg
    89.1 KB · Views: 207
  • dragonfly1.jpg
    dragonfly1.jpg
    29.7 KB · Views: 193
  • dragonfly14.jpg
    dragonfly14.jpg
    56.3 KB · Views: 185
  • F M the World.jpg
    F M the World.jpg
    234.9 KB · Views: 338
  • green grasshopper.jpg
    green grasshopper.jpg
    93.8 KB · Views: 180

Skydancer

Oh you're right - it IS a grasshopper!!

*sigh*

*S*

.traveller.

I always thought it was a grasshopper. Dragonflies don't have heads like that and the artist knew his bugs.

Sophie

.traveller said:
...and the artist knew his bugs.
Better than I do, it seems ;)

Does it matter? If it does, reread the story and insert "grasshopper" in lieu of "dragonfly"...though perhaps, in Another World, dragonflies look like grasshoppers, and grasshoppers...like tight-rope dancers* :laugh:

*like the one on the Two of Coins.

gregory

I suppose the biggest thing is that one can fly and the other cannot ?

baba-prague

gregory said:
I suppose the biggest thing is that one can fly and the other cannot ?