Five, five, five

Carla

I'm really curious and thought it would be fun to know. I feel pretty sure you'll end up with three very different lists.

What are your top 5 FAVOURITE decks of all time?

What do you think are the top 5 BEST decks of all time?

What do you believe are the top 5 MOST INFLUENTIAL decks of all time?

Carla

I'll go first, but I am a tarot newbie and only have around 40 decks in my collection. So, bear that in mind. I don't believe I have sufficient knowledge to do the Best or Most Influential lists. This is why I want to see other people's lists.

5 Faves--
1. Morgan Greer (for some reason, I can read this deck like butter)
2. Druidcraft
3. Anna K
4. Celtic Tarot
5. Tarot of the Sidhe

Le Fanu

Top 5 Favourites for reading;

1. Victorian Romantic
2. Thoth
3. Navigators Tarot of the Mystic SEA
4. 1001 Nights
5. Golden Tarot of Klimt

Top 5 BEST decks

1. RWS
2. Thoth
3. Jacques Vieville (The first truly exotic tarot)
4. Soprafino
5. Trevisan's Crystal Tarot. (So rich and refined and aesthetic. Sadly, I don't think the current edition shows it at its best.)

NB, no *official* Marseilles

Five Most Influential

1. RWS
2. Thoth
3. Greenwood (so many decks now want to be the Greenwood, not just the Wildwood)
4. Etteilla / Jeu des Dames
5. Bohemian Gothic (the deck to which all dark decks aspire). But that's a fashion thing as "dark" is now de rigeur. These trends pass. I'm not sure about position number 5.

NB, I don't think the Marseilles exerts even a tiny influence on most decks now published. Is that an extreme thing to say? Most decks don't want to be like a Marseilles deck.