help with info about a cheap deck

hollyelizabeth

Hi everyone!

I just bought a deck of ebay for around $4...(unfortunately shipping to aus was $7 but i kind of sort of fell in love with the artwork on it and had to have them)

http://i1036.photobucket.com/albums/a445/hollyelizabethx/Screenshot2012-03-10at11201PM.png

http://i1036.photobucket.com/albums/a445/hollyelizabethx/Screenshot2012-03-10at11218PM.png

my only problem is, the deck is obviously from a cheap $2 shop type of company and at the top of each card it has kind of the "meaning" of what each card means! i figure perhaps if i'm still learning it might be a good way for me to learn the meanings, but i'm also worried that the meanings are completely made up and have nothing to do with the traditional RWS meanings (as a beginner i really would like to learn the RWS meanings well and branch out from there).

so - a question is, do the meanings shown on these cards look accurate/align with the RWS meanings? has anyone else used these cards at all? how have you found them?

thanks in advance everyone ^.^

gypsylady

I wouldn't necessarily consider these accurate... If you love them that much though, there is no reason not to get them for yourself, but I wouldn't use them for readings :)

DaughterOfDanu

http://tarotforum.net/showthread.php?t=168250

The thread above is all about that deck (Nicknamed the Dollar Tree Tarot) it can be found, as guessed, at a dollar tree for $1.

I have a few copies myself, I don't use them and I do believe that the meanings are not spot on with RWS standards.

But some people did work around ways to use it. So check out that thread.

Zephyros

I remember that thread, it looks like a really, really nice deck, made even nicer by its price :)