how did you learn tarot?

joschau

do u guys learn it urself (book/ online) or join some tarot class?
im a newbie..learn it online and read books..but i think attending those classes would learn it faster and more correct?
i see there are lots of classes..but the price varies
how about you?

Soaring Eagle

I actually learned tarot by purchasing my deck and reading the book that came with it. I've since read a couple of books, and joined forums. I think you would learn the same thing here in these forums than you would in a class. Just my opinion. If you have a question about a particular card, you can always do a search and find out what others have said about it. Of course it depends on which deck you are using, if it is a common deck or not.

My suggestion would be to read your accomanying book and start a journal. Start by writing about one card per page or two pages until you have written about every card in your deck. For me, it was easier to only write about three per day. The cards are best interpreted by studying them and using your knowledge and intuition to decide a "true" meaning.

Kali Kitty

This question brings to mind one of those Zen koans, which are stories designed by Buddhist monks to teach acolytes how to grasp the nature of enlightenment. A student asks, "Master, if I meditate for five hours every day, how long will it take me to become enlightened?" And the teacher replies, "Oh, about five years." The student furrows his brow. "And what if I meditate for *ten* hours a day?" he asks. "Oh," says the teacher, "... then it will take you ten years!"

.. personally it has taken me fookin' ages to even get this far, and I don't consider myself "good" at tarot, though I will readily admit I am obsessed.

Have you read the book "The Two Hour Tarot Tutor" by Wilma Carroll? If you're in a rush, that's a really good one.

Kali Kitty