Humble Beginnings

Aurelious

I have been studying tarot for about two months, now starting to reply to most threads I read and answering some spreads in Your Readings.

I want to take my practice out into the real world. Perhaps in a few weeks of course, but what are some accepted / successful ways my fellow AT members started out?

tarotmama

I think it's good to start with your friends. Just be careful that you set boundaries else they'll start to take advantage of you!

You can also just go to a quiet coffee shop or a park and sit down with your cards. Inevitably someone will come up to you and strike up a conversation -- wanting a reading. You can offer to do so for free or ask for tips or donations, whatever you're comfortable with. In any case, you'll be getting lots of practice soon enough!

You have to ask for action if that's what you really want!

Grizabella

Don't forget that where you are, in the south, you're going to be getting a lot of Christians who come up and try to save your soul if you're reading out in public, so just be aware of that and be prepared for it.

I just hate that part! It takes me back to my childhood and youth where I was brow-beaten, shamed for being me and hit over the head with the Bible. It doesn't help any that I live in the same town that my late husband's Adventist neice lives in. If I were to go sit in a shop or park, she'd be sure to show up. :rolleyes:

If you can be prepared for them, though, and not let them intimidate you, then coffee shops and parks and other public places are a good idea.

afrosaxon

Grizabella said:
Don't forget that where you are, in the south, you're going to be getting a lot of Christians who come up and try to save your soul if you're reading out in public, so just be aware of that and be prepared for it.