Majors-only readings...does that work well?

MareSaturni

When i started learning tarot, about 8 years ago (pfft, nothing!), i used only the major arcana to read. I decided to learn the majors well, before moving to the minors.

After i learnt the minors, i've always read with the complete deck. Lately, however, i noticed an increasing number of majors-only decks in my collection...and the deck i created myself is also majors-only, and i love using it. Other decks, i love the majors and deslike the minors.

On the other hand, i fear that using only the majors might not...you know, make good readings. The minor arcana offers a lot of information, detailed sometimes, and i don't know if the majors could work the same way.

Does anyone here reads with the major arcana only? How is your experience? Are the readings equally good, what problems you find? I wisi i could enjoy more my majors-only decks without feeling my readings are 'lacking' something. :(

Le Fanu

Interesting post! This was a subject I was going to post on a while back then didn´t have time or something....

When I first started learning tarot, I found using the whole deck too overwhelming, so I tended to just use the majors (plus it was Marseilles / 1JJ Swiss). If you look at my old decks, the majors are grubby and well-thumbed, the minors all pristine clean!

Then I began using the whole deck etc, but recently, I have come across decks with majors which I love and minors which I don´t feel I can work with. Like Tarot of the III Millennium for instance. But there are others. Plus I recently rediscoered my Ansata.

But I confess I don´t really know now how to read Majors only. I know we are all different when we read, but the Majors and Minors together flesh out each other (that´s just my way of seeing it), they complement each other, make up the totality. Id feel I was doing half a reading.