Not being able to read with a specific deck...

carley124

I'm new at this whole Tarot thing so I've been reading tons of different threads, just to learn more about the cards and the way readers react to them. Something I keep coming across is that readers have trouble connecting with a deck and, therefore, can not read with it. If you know the meanings of the cards in general, why wouldn't you be able to read with it? I have a RWS deck and, while I'm not crazy about it, I can still do a reading. Sorry if this is a very "beginner" question, but like I said, I'm a beginner. :)

Muir Aingeal

It could be art they can't connect to which could put a block on their reading. Some decks have imagery they may not like either etc Can't connect, can't bond. I'm sure they could read with decks such as these but why would they want to? hence the not connecting.

Grizabella

There are so many, many decks, some of them quite closely based on RWS and some of them really loosely based on it. Some are based on Thoth, like Haindl and I've heard maybe Vision Quest is, too. Then some have illustrated pips and some have non-illustrated. It's all so varied that it's just hard to mix them all up and read any deck, especially when you're new.

Silver Crow

I think the longer you read, the more decks you find unreadable. Yes, you know the general meanings of each card, and even those you've created yourself, but there's something else you look for, the thing that rings the intuition bell, the symbols, the colors or what not that jump out and say, "This is what I'm trying to make you see"! Then you may even get to the point when the general meanings just don't match with what you are feeling in that reading, and the meaning of the card speaks to you in it's own way entirely.

I guess what I'm saying is, if the images don't affect you, or the symbolism doesn't speak to you, the deck is unreadable beyond memorized meanings and many of us are looking for more than that.

Nytebugg