Oil paintings as Tarot?

blackroseivy

I am DETERMINED to produce a publishable deck. I would like opinions (HudsonGray??!! :D ) as to how a deck made of oil paintings would go. I would have to paint them fairly large, of course - I'm thinking about the size of an ordinary piece of paper, as I think it would be wise to be able to scan them. I have a degree in oils & can show you a piece here that is my best, just so you get an idea what it is really like. It may be a help, I hope!

I'm fired up about this idea. It's what I am best at, so I need some support, I hope! ;) Anyway, some honest opinions are welcome.

Here is my painting:

Attachments

• Eithne 004.jpg
    Eithne 004.jpg
    36 KB · Views: 214

HudsonGray

Nice detailwork especially on the background, Danubhe.

I saw at least six of the original oil paintings of Julie Cuccia Watts deck The Ancestral Tarot, over at a spirit fair. This was before she got the contract with the publisher to have the deck printed. She had photos of the rest of the cards that were finished because the other paintings were too many to carry to the event. The size she'd worked in was about 15x18", so they were fairly large.

You'd be limited by the size of the scanner bed, unless you have them reduced down somewhat at a print shop. They can do photo reduction and a bunch of other ways as well, to keep detail and such.

By all means, do oils! I can't work in that medium at all, and have a lot of trouble with just acrylics, so more power to you!

goddesscarlie

wow!!

my favourite type of tarot cards are ones with traditional methods of drawing/painting. You seem really good, I'd love to see what kind of style you would create :D

Emeraldgirl

Wow that is a stunning painting. I think it would be possible to create a great deck using oil paintings. Although as HudsonGray said it would be best to get them to a printer's to keep the detaill.

Chronata

Of course you can make an oil painted deck!