On the nature of Tarot

Dannil

I have a question about the nature of Tarot. But before I ask, I think I should explain a bit about where I'm coming from.

I'm totally new to Tarot. This sudden interest in Tarot that I now have is totally out of character for me. I've always considered myself to be a very scientific guy, being an IT consultant and all. And I've pretty much always been an atheist too.

But then, about two years ago, I read a critical article about Scientology which sparked my interest. I read all I could find about it - not because I liked Scientology, but because it was so strange and foreign to me how somebody could join something like that. Anyway, in my readings I came across references to Aleister Crowley, which again sparked my interest. So I started reading about him too, and I realised that there are people alive today who actually believe in (paranormal) magic. That felt VERY strange to me. "How on earth can people actually believe in magic?", I thought. Are they being brain-washed somehow, or are they just self-delusional? So, then I started reading everything I could find about magic. While doing that, I came across Wicca (a modern witchcraft religion based on pre-Christian European religions). Belief in magic is common among Wiccans. I ordered some books about Wicca, and now I find myself contemplating becoming a Wiccan myself.

Like I said, you must realise that this is totally out of character for me. In two years time, I've gone from being a very physical, scientific guy to being interested in Wicca, Tarot, and now I believe that magic just might be possible. It's been quite a journey.

Now that you know a little bit about my background, you might have an easier time understanding why I'm both interested in, and sceptical of Tarot. I mean, can you really tell the future with it? I see several possiblities, and I don't know what to believe.