Past Cards... why do we do this

fyreflie24

Hey! I often use a 3 card past, present, future spread as I'm a relative beginner and I find this spread accessible but today, I was thinking about the past cards. Why do we use the past cards? Yes, they help us understand where we've been but don't we know where we've been? Or not?

Hum...

I'm just curious what everyone else thinks about the use of past cards and how they are relevant in your readings.

Thank you!
:)

PathWalker

I find them helpful, becuase for me they narrow down which aspect of my situations in the past are relevant to this reading.

So is a specific situation from the past playing out in the now?

Did that make sense?

:)

janie144

Perhaps you would find it more helpful if you didn't look at it as a 'where you have been' card, try thinking of it more as a 'what you did or how you behaved in the past that brought you to this point' card. In future if you don't want to be in this position you will know what behavior or action not to repeat. :)

Barleywine

I've begun thinking of the "past" card(s) as describing the source of underlying motives for actions in the present, among other things like lessons learned, entrenched attitudes and - sometimes - unfinished business.

CelestialHorse

I'd look at the past card as, like a validation/confirmation.

MissMacchiato

yes, I've read about this before. It's really just a bit of an ego stroke, isn't it? That we are correctly reading the cards.

I don't generally include it anymore, unless I'm using a specific spread that would involve that position, and choose to keep it 'as is' rather than modify.

CelestialHorse

Yeah and good point, why use the past card.

I always want to know if I am having accuracy in the reads because I want the cards to tell me what I NEED to hear, what will really happen, etc. But I think in the end it's a wait and see kind of thing if your cards are right or not :/ I hate waiting lol.

Hanno