Question about the Devil as Outcome

AlexisMackenzie

Hi, I'm new here. :) I'm also new to start reading tarot!

In advance, I want to say, I can't return to this forum until some days, so if I don't reply to replies (!) quickly, that's the reason. I do intend to come back and participate in the forum, not just using people for resource. :)

Okay, I started by doing a daily one-card reading to familiarise myself with the cards. :) But arose a question where I wanted more guidance, so I decided to place myself a Celtic Cross spread on my question. I don't really want to go into the question here (although if most think it necessary, I will post it later :) ) - I think my question is a little more general.

Basically, I am slightly uncertain (and, admittedly, concerned!) about the Devil in position 10 (outcome).

So in general (sorry to take long to get to the point!) I was wondering on the perspective of people with much more experience than me, on the Devil in a spread. I tend to interpret it very negatively when it occurs in a 'future'-related position and I can't think of a single card in the deck which would have given me any *less* of a glimmer of hope for the outcome! :-D But I think maybe because of my inexperience I'm unable to see all the possibilities of this card.

(FWIW, the deck I was using was the Dark Angels Tarot.)

rwcarter

As an outcome, the Devil may be a reminder that whatever situation in which you find yourself is one that you have the ability to extract yourself from if you so desire. I don't have the Dark Angels in front of me, but the RWS imagery of the card usually shows two people who are chained to the Devil, but their bonds are loose enough that they can remove them.

The Devil could also represent carnal desires, if that's relevant to the reading.

HTH,
Rodney

Herzog

Could also be suggesting a need to loosen up. Hard to say without seeing the spread or knowing the question etc.

nisaba

Nice one, Rodney.