Question about "your reading" rule.

Cenz

Hi everyone, i hope you guys don't mind me posting a question that has been bugging me for a while. I'm still a beginner, please pardon the stupid question :D

In the "Your Reading" section of this forum, you are required to include your own interpretation before posting, what's the reason behind this?
Won't it be even more 'see, tarot knows everything!' if we don't include our own interpretation? Also, will my interpretation cloud the response from others?

I know there must be a reason why we have that rule, just really curious what it is. :)

kellyshay

I think its because to avoid other people coming on this site just to get a free reading....

Grizabella

We'd get inundated with free reading requests if we were to change the rule. Even as it is, there are tons of people who dive right in and post their spreads without reading the rules or giving their own interpretations. We're all here to learn and interpreting our own cards before someone else can help us is a lot more helpful than just letting everyone else interpret for you.

Zephyros

I agree with Grizabella, that forum is a learning forum, and supplying your own interpretations is part of that. Opinions always vary, and that is also a way of learning and promoting discussion. The purpose of that forum is not to be amazed by Tarot.

Chiriku

Thousands of people read the original post and try to come up with their own interpretations of the cards. Then, they check their own interpretation against that of (a) the original poster, who is in the position to know most of the pertinent details of the situation, and (b) the other posters in the thread, who have the advantage of being removed from the situation and thus perhaps seeing some things with a clearer sight.

As a result, all involved have the benefit of multiple interpretations from multiple sources. This is the spirit of "learning," which is the reason why that sub-forum exists.