Question from a beginner

AquarianGoddess

First, thanks to Thirteen for posting all the interpretations! I really find them valuable.

Since I'm very new to tarot, I would like your opinions of the validity of the readings. Is the outcome card, the be all to end all? What percentage would you give the accuracy? In astrology, nothing is ever 100% and sometimes can be only 40%. Is tarot the same?

In the past three months, I've had two tarot readings (done by the same person) who was 100% accurate in speaking of past events of my life (people, places, etc), but zero % accurate on predictions. Why would that be? She's been reading for over 20 years and knows her stuff, so I don't doubt her knowledge.

I look forward to hearing your views.

MeeWah

Speaking from personal experience, & from what I've seen from readings for others, the accuracy of Tarot is high though I've not tried to rate it in terms of percentages. Nothing is written in stone, so the outcome card does not have the last word on a situation. That card may even refer to a new development, which opens another area of potential. In addition, the purpose of Tarot is not so much to "predict" as much as it is to offer insight & guidance. Due to the information received, one may make a different choice which may well change the outcome.
It seems the element of time is involved, which is tricky to accomodate. Two readings within a span of 3 months is not too often, but close enough that perhaps not enough time has elapsed to prove or disprove a reading, barring any event which occurrs within that timeframe that would either support or deny apparent trends in either reading.