Reading 1 card, 2 cards, or more

Bluebonnet

Another beginner question....

I know there are numerous lay outs in reading Tarot. As a beginner, I've been mainly doing 2 card readings and an occassional celtic cross and 3 card reading. I know many readers do just 1 card readings. I've tried that and come up with 1 message. If I put down a second card, the message is completely different. Do you tell the deck how many cards you are going to select or what lay out you are going to use?

B

amethyst57

to an outsider it would sound silly, but i do tell my cards what spread, number of cards,etc...just as you would, in asking your question to them...

KMilliron

My cards know. They're smart, cause someoen in this relationship has to be. :D

ncharge

rockersgurl said:
to an outsider it would sound silly, but i do tell my cards what spread, number of cards,etc...just as you would, in asking your question to them...

I do the same. I feel like I have to know the spread in advance so the cards can align themselves for the reading. I focus on the question AND the spread when I shuffle.

I often wait a moment and just hold the deck when I'm done shuffling. It is like that is the deck's last change to change the order of the cards (I know - totally crazy!). Then, I got the Konxari cards, and the LWB says basically the same thing. You lay the cards, then wait a couple of minutes before flipping them to give the spirits time to make changes. Now at least I feel like I have some company in my craziness.

Bluebonnet

Well, that's what I've been doing....telling the cards what exactly I'm going to lay out. Let's say you're going to do a 3 card read. How are they to know its just a flat 3 card read or if you're doing a past, present, future? What if you intended to do a 2 card read, and just for the heck of it...put a 3rd down? Will that card add to the story? Or just not make sense?

Just the science major in me coming out.....

Richard