Shut Eye

Satyrist

Im wondering what Tarot people think of TV and movies where the Tarot is featured. It's a great device but as we all know devices can be over used and obviously misused. The most recent uses I've seen were in the show about Psychics and grifters called Shut Eye, but the Tarot is also used in the recent show Westworld.

I personally find it always misleading. They have to write with a goal in mind and use the cards to show whatever through line they're trying to make in a scene. It becomes trite. You see the death card in a James Bond movie and it means literal, "death." There's no mystery or inner conflict or even true Tarot. But what do y'all think?

I'm a writer and work in the entertainment industry, so full disclosure -my first entry into studying Tarot was for a script. I have since decided to stay away from writing cards into scripts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Barleywine

I thought it was handled fairly well in the lamentably truncated Carnivale, but it was mainly a prop and not a true plot device.

FLizarraga

Im wondering what Tarot people think of TV and movies where the Tarot is featured. It's a great device but as we all know devices can be over used and obviously misused. <snip>

I personally find it always misleading. They have to write with a goal in mind and use the cards to show whatever through line they're trying to make in a scene. It becomes trite. You see the death card in a James Bond movie and it means literal, "death." There's no mystery or inner conflict or even true Tarot. But what do y'all think?

THIS.

I found it reasonably well used (within limits) in the BBC's Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell, and more or less OK in the much lamented Penny Dreadful. (I just don't buy John Logan's sort-of-explanation about his three-season original plan. There are way too many loose ends, and the finale felt VERY rushed. But I digress.)