Spreads for Beginners

NYCTeen

I've read/seen MANY different spreads on this site but I wasn't sure I'd be able to actually do them since I'm new to Tarot. Are there any spreads you'd recommend to a beginner in Tarot? It doesn't matter if it's love or life spreads, just ANY spread! Thank you in advance... :)

Lurea

There's all sorts of three card spreads, nycteen. I would recommend starting with some of those to begin with, and gradually working up in complexity/number of cards.

If you check the spreads index at the top of this forum, you will find listings of spreads. If you page down nearly all the way to the bottom, you will find a heading that says "Three Card Spreads". :D Browse through some of those and play with them.

Gaidheal

I completely agree with Lurea. There's really no reason you need to go beyond a 3-Card spread until you really start to feel comfortable with the cards. Three cards can give you a surprising amount of information.

goddesscarlie

I am a beginer as well. I have tried more than three card spreads, but I pick spreads where each place has a particular meaning (for instance, place 1. means "present situation" and 2. means "emotions"). I then look at each individual card and try and see what I think it could mean from the pictures on the card and the meaning of the place. After that I will look in the book that came with my cards, just to see if I am on the right track.

I hope that helps you a bit! If not, that is just my method at the moment. Find one for yourself that makes it easy for you to learn.

Alissa

Welcome NYCTeen!

I also agree (and you'll find the general consensus is around here is the same) that it's better to err on the side of "less is more" when starting out. Spreads with 3 cards can be extremely versatile, and can contain LOTS of information.