storing gemstones/crystals

Ferne

Hi Everyone...

Yesterday I had purchased many new gemstones and crystals. The ones I purchased are Agate, amethyst, blue onyx, Kyanito, dolomito, quartz crystal and rose quartz.

I have never used gemstones/crystals before, this is a first.

How should I store them? I would like to store them all in one place, I was thinking of keeping them a small wooden box, but I'm not sure if that is the best thing to do.

Also I have questions about cleansing and clearing the stones..

Some say to pass them over a flame. Is this a good method?, and how many times should I pass it?..2-3 times? And does it have to be right in the flame, or just above it?

Another suggestion was smudging, but I would hate to do that in the house. Some people are sensitive to the smoke/fumes. Is it possible to smudge outside?

How often do I cleanse my stones? Twice a month?...Everytime I use them?

I have searched the internet...and it's all confusing to me, so I thought I would ask the pros.

Any advise/suggestions or additional information that you think I should know would be really appreciated right now.

Ferne

SilverCloudedWolf

Hi Ferne,

congrats on your new crystals!

There is a lot of information out there, and it can be confusing, but most people will tell you to go with what feels best for you. There are many people more knowledgable than me on the forum, but I can tell you what I do with mine, and why.

I store most of mine in wooden jewellrey boxes as they come lined to stop the softer stones getting scratched, I also found a small (about 12 inches high) chest of drawers that I lined and keep some in there. I tend to keep tumblestones and polished stones separate from rough and uncut stones just so they don't scratch each other. Some types are separated out (e.g. quartz) and have their own box but that's because I have too many to fit in all together.