Testing the cards

illumine

Hi guys,

I'm on a roll with my posts. ;)

I have a weird feeling the cards are not being...ahem, honest with me. It could be that because I badgered them about the same situation over and over and they just refuse to work. But lately, they've been making sense and I really pick up on things....but I can't shake off the feeling that I'm being fooled. I keep getting happy cards about an unhappy situation, card combinations that look like oppositions (sun + 5 of pentacles---hot and cold, in RW deck). I know I'm only a beginner and this could just be a matter of me NOT GETTING IT.

Can I test the cards? By testing I mean, say, asking a question about the past and seeing if the cards pick up on it? Or asking "how do I feel right now"...there are probably better ways of doing this....has anyone tried? I need to see if they are attuned to me. I read some suggestions on sleeping with them under the pillow? Purifying them, etc.

--muchas gracias. Illumine.

nisaba

illumine said:
I have a weird feeling the cards are not being...ahem, honest with me. It could be that because I badgered them about the same situation over and over and they just refuse to work.
Very likely. If you keep asking the same stuff, all that tells your deck is that you don't believe it. So why, if you don't believe it, should it give you accurate answers? It might as well give it the nonsense you obviously expect from it.

illumine said:
But lately, they've been making sense and I really pick up on things....but I can't shake off the feeling that I'm being fooled. I keep getting happy cards about an unhappy situation,
Encouragement? "this too will pass, and going through this experience will lead to better things"?

illumine said:
card combinations that look like oppositions (sun + 5 of pentacles---hot and cold, in RW deck).