The Hanged man/IJJtarot

Lunaeyes

I was given this deck by a friend a few months ago. The hanged man card differs from my other decks. The nonextended leg is behind the hanging one . How does this affect a reading if at all? Crowley's Thoth deck illustrates the legs forming a four but the legs position is the reverse of the Waite deck. I am a beginner,relativelyspeaking,and I apprecialte all assistance. thanks

jmd

The 1JJ appears to combine a Besançon type image, in which both feet are tied, with a more traditional Marseille image, in which one foot is tied (but usually the left-hand one), with the other leg forming a kind of figure '4', horizontal lower section of the leg going behind the hanging leg.

In that sense, the image, with the loose leg going behing the tied, is traditional.

I have attached a version from the Payen deck, circa late 17th or early 18th century.

Attachments

• 12.jpg
    12.jpg
    8.7 KB · Views: 79

Thirteen

Lunaeyes said:
I was given this deck by a friend a few months ago. The hanged man card differs from my other decks. The nonextended leg is behind the hanging one . How does this affect a reading if at all?
You're going to find many such changes in different decks--depending on which deck is their inspiration (Waite, Crowley or Marseille), depending on artist inspiration and/or creator interpetation. The little details usually don't change the meaning as much as the bigger details (for example, the meaning of the Hanged Man will probably remain "A sacrifice, a time of suspension..." no matter how that leg is positioned. However, there might well be a difference in the reading if the Devil card you're using depicts a goat-footed Dionysis dancing about a green glade as compared to a horned demon in a fiery hell, no?).