Validity of Book of Thoth

The Celtic Seeker

I'm very new to Tarot, but I'm learning and I've been reading around the subject. Having learned of the references to Kabbalah and to Egyptian mysticism in the tarot I was going to seek a course in Egyptian mysticism, as a starting point to further understand the background.
However, I have just read 'A wicked pack of cards' by Decker, Depaulis and Dummett. I'm sure this book is well known in the Tarot forums. The authors make clear that from their researches, there is no evidence of a link between the Tarot and Egyptian mysticism, the whole thing being an invention of mystic / occult french scholars in the 16th - 19th centuries, the tarot having been first used in fifteenth century Italy as a game.

I am now confused - where does this leave Crowley and the Book of Thoth for example?

Celtic Seeker

AJ

Welcome to AT!

I've never used the Thoth deck, but many decks introduce many things on top of the basic tarot. In fact some of them add so much the tarot seems to be lost.

Study all those things that interest you, we can never run out of things to learn. But don't worry about it if you don't ... the tarot is there...a never ending source of info-junkying and education.

Abrac

I think the main thing to keep in mind is that tarot didn't originate in Egypt as occultist believed for a long time. The only connection with Egypt I can see is via Hermeticism (Egyptian mysticism), though it's not clear to me if it was there from the beginning which seems to be the point they were making in A Wicked Pack of Cards. I don't think there's a smoking gun that points directly to Hermeticism, but Hermetic elements can be found in some of the oldest decks if you want to find them.

To my mind, Crowley's philosophy and tarot deck are Hermetic in nature, though strictly speaking it's not Hermetic either but Thelemic, which would make the whole Hermeticism or not Hermeticism debate fairly meaningless where Crowley's concerned.

Strange2