Where Does One Find Work,...

Baroli

Ok, this is probably going to touch on a lot of subjects so please bear with me.

I have long been mildly envious (face it, I am jealous,:rolleyes: lol) of my west coast friends, brother, and sister readers, of their psychic fairs, and having a way to do that thing that we all love to do,....read. Aside from private appointments and one or two public reading gigs that really came out of the blue, there really isn't that kind of constant thing around here at the shore in Central Jersey, until the summertime and what there is of a constant every Saturday type thing, you need to belong to a store where there are already established readers. The store is the one who puts the gig on. I find that I prefer working as a freelancer. It allows me the freedom to do my own booking and negotiations etc.

So the question I posed to myself was where can I find work? This reminds me of when I was a musician (singer/bassplayer) and asking the same question. The answer is in the same place. The private party.

Oh Baroli, we know that; people are always doing private parties for charities or whatever and you would be right. But have you considered working a wedding reception?? I didn't until just recently and thought I would share with you my experience. The reception isn't until April 26th, so we have got plenty of time.

Word of mouth is the best way, IMO, to get yourself out there. If you are good at what you do, word gets around. Remember the gig I had at the restaurant? Well, feedback was slow in coming, but finally it is starting to payoff. I got 1-2 private appointments out of that, but the Universe gave me this gift of a wedding reception.