Where to start?

Open Arms

I have both the Liber T and the Thoth decks and a copy of the Book of Thoth - as yet unread. Having flicked through both decks they are very similar in imagery so I wonder - is it better to start with the Liber T and then go to the Thoth or the other way around?

As a complete Thoth newbie I have been reading the postings here and get completely lost on the zodic, numerology and decans stuff but I hope to pick that up once I a) read the book and b) use the deck.

Advice please?

Aeon418

Open Arms said:
I have both the Liber T and the Thoth decks and a copy of the Book of Thoth - as yet unread. Having flicked through both decks they are very similar in imagery so I wonder - is it better to start with the Liber T and then go to the Thoth or the other way around?
Except for one point, it really doesn't matter which deck you decide to start with. My advice would be to chose the one which apeals to you most on an artistic level.

When reading the Book of Thoth bear in mind that the amount of over-lap between the Liber-T and the Thoth deck is huge. Everything in the Book of Thoth applies equally to both decks. It's a real 2-for-1 offer. The only thing you won't find in the Book of Thoth is any mention of the decan imagery found on the Liber-T minor cards. I believe Scion has created a pdf full of material on these images. I'm sure if you ask him he will help you out.

Emily

Hi Open Arms,

I've used the Liber T exclusively for a few years now and still don't know all its little twists and turns, it's a deck with many layers - I've just recently started getting into the Decans but have just been using it visually, it gives good readings no matter how basic you use it but it's very open for study.