World Card vs. Death card in terms of endings/completions

illumine

Hi All,

I'm new to AT and I did a quick search on this but didn't find a thread...if it exists, please let me know and I apologize for a repeat!

Would you say the difference between getting the World vs. Death card is that the World is definitely/more likely to signify good endings while Death card is ending in hardship, pain, etc? Just my first guess....I got the World Card as an outcome for a relationship/ex reading and took it as: "the journey's over" :( ...but then wondered what if I were to get the Death card? The journey's also over, it also signifies a new stage (at least that's how I see it using Rider Waite)...what would be the difference?

thanks!
-Illumine

rwcarter

Death is the break-up with the guy you were really in love with who was a jerk. That ending needed to happen so that you'd be free when Mr. Right came along. The World is your union with Mr. Right that ends your single lifestyle. This ending is the beginning of a new phase in your life.

So Death would be an intermediary ending that allows one to continue along a given path while the World is a true ending that allows one to begin anew on a higher (or the next) level.

Does that help?

Rodney

ETA: Welcome to Aeclectic!

nisaba

To add to what Rodney said, Death is the moment when you slam a door behind you or burn your bridges: you can stay stuck right there or move forwards, but you'll never go back again. It is a full stop that forces you to change direction.

The World is more like a graduation: the end-of-year party for school leavers, the long-awaited wedding for the would-be bride, the awarding of a degree to a university student. It is a completion, an anticipated, satisfactory completion. (Sometimes that can mean a separation or divorce, if it makes you happier than being trapped in an unpleasant situation).

214red