Natural Omens

midnightmerry

Does anyone had any experiences with natural omens? I have had some pretty trippy experiences with cloud formations. The worst one was about 2 weeks before 9/11 I had a sow's head that formed into a wolf's head in the sky right over me one night, looking straight down at me. It was very frightening. This was not a 'nice' sow or wolf's head at all. I told my daughter about it that night, but I didn't know what it meant. When 9/11 happened, it clicked.

midnightmerry

I can see that this has generated a lot of interest! lol

Am I really the only one who does this? I'm really surprised, given all the intuitive/pagan oriented people here. But I always have looked for/seen omens in nature. Mainly I use cloud divination, but I also use tree divination, too.

*ping*

Well, hopefully someone else shares this form of divination. :)

the hermit

midnightmerry said:
Does anyone had any experiences with natural omens?
Yes, as a child my granny would tell us all sorts of things about good omens and bad omens, though I don’t remember her saying anything about clouds… other than the old sailor’s rhyme…
Red sky in the morning, sailors take warning, red sky at night, sailors delight.
midnightmerry said:
I can see that this has generated a lot of interest! lol

Am I really the only one who does this? I'm really surprised, given all the intuitive/pagan oriented people here. But I always have looked for/seen omens in nature. Mainly I use cloud divination, but I also use tree divination, too.

*ping*

Well, hopefully someone else shares this form of divination. :)
One thing I do remember was how upset she would get if she or anyone of us saw an owl from inside the house… or worse, if a bird struck a window.
The owl sighting was supposed to be bad luck or death (I know that various native Americans view the owl as a messenger).
And the bird strike was supposed to mean ‘death in the family’ very soon.